Uninsured Illinois Automobile Owners Will Face Severe Sanctions

September 27, 2023

State regulations and penalties in the United States differ when it comes to uninsured driving. As for Illinois, around 12% of local car owners did not have active insurance in 2019. However, choosing to go uninsured in Illinois, even if you feel like saving on the ever-increasing car insurance could be a good decision, might lead to substantial fees and strict sanctions. 

Minimum Insurance Degree Required By The State Legislation

Like the majority of U.S. states, Illinois obliges automobile owners to acquire a base level of coverage. As a rule, the base level includes material losses, physical harm, and uninsured motorist coverage.


Image Source: www.ilinsurancecenter.com

Penalties For Uninsured Driving in Illinois

The Illinois digital insurance verification system (ILIVS) tracks and monitors insured transport around the entire state. The system requirements include regular reporting to the Secretary of State on behalf of insurance providers, which means that they are required to submit daily reports on the present state of all the newly acquired and canceled insurance policies.

If it is your first offense, you will be obliged to pay a fine reaching upwards of $1,000. The second or third-time offense might lead to higher and more significant sums. 

However, being a first-time offender does not mean that your license cannot be suspended. In many cases, you can get your license suspended for around three months as a first-time offender. If the scenario repeats, you will not be able to legally drive for four months or longer. Automobile owners are expected to pay a fee of $100 to be re-granted a driver’s permit. 

Uninsured driving can also be a cause of automobile impoundment in Illinois. Police have the right to tow and impound the car if they deem it necessary. In this case, an owner will have to pay the fee to get the automobile back. 

Once the offense takes place, you are likely to be considered a high-risk driver. It means that looking for insurance can become more complicated since you will have to afford higher premiums. 

Being a repeat offender in Illinois might lead to court supervision requiring an SR-22 certificate. In this case, automobile owners should remember that not keeping up with the SR-22 requirements can result in permanent license suspension.

What if you get into an accident with no active coverage?

Getting into an accident while uninsured can result in numerous sanctions, fines, and penalties. When it comes to automobile accidents in Illinois, the level of punishment depends on the party at fault. 

If you are a victim, bodily harm claims can be made through the at-fault party’s insurance provider for physical injuries or material losses. However, if you cause an accident, you will be covered by the other automobile owner’s uninsured motorist coverage. It could take a while to process this type of claim, but the insurance provider will probably take legal action against you to collect money to cover the losses.

Learn What Affect the Price of Your Insurance in Illinois to Get the Best Coverage


Infographics Source: wallethub.com

Victoria Berezhetska

Victoria Berezhetska is a Content Lead at Phonexa.com and an expert contributor to CoverExplore. She has a Bachelor of Science degree in Business Administration, with extensive working experience as a PR specialist and content writer. At CoverExplore, she helps customers find the right educational material through easily digestible blog posts and buying guides backing their insurance coverage choice. Victoria covers diverse topics around digital and insurance marketing, including auto, home, health, and life insurance.

We will be happy to hear your thoughts

Leave a reply